Inspiration

Kamakura JapanAs I look back over the books I have read over the past few years, five stand out as having particularly inspired me on my writer’s journey:

The History of Love by Nicole Krauss showed me that writing a novel was something I could aspire to. Little did I know…

When I despaired that my too-nice characters would bore the reader, Bel Canto by Ann Patchett brought back some much-needed hope.

When I was searching for the right voice for my female protagonist, The Disappeared by Kim Echlin, with her first person narrator addressing a single You, turned out to be exactly what I was looking for.

The Gift of Stones by Jim Crace illustrated how storytelling is always shaped by the audience. Embellishing is not really lying. It entertains and makes the story more relevant.

Lastly, The Reinvention of Love by Helen Humphreys held me spellbound through pages and pages of soul-searching, a skill I can only admire from afar, having only limited facility in this area.

Honourable mentions, in no particular order, go to:

The Ghost Brush by Katherine Govier

Sad Peninsula by Mark Sampson

The Shape I Gave You by Martha Bailie

Possession by A.S. Byatt

The Mission Song by John le Carré

What novels have inspired you?

Leave a Reply

