Dixie

Si on avait besoin d'une cinquième saison / Harmonium
Si on avait besoin d’une cinquième saison / Harmonium

Whenever I think about Summer I think about Dixie by 1970’s iconic Québec band Harmonium.

Dixie is the second track of season-themed album Si on avait besoin d’une cinquième saison (If We Needed a Fifth Season) and stands for Summer, a 3:26 min gem of a song that we would most definitely call jazz today rather than progressive rock. Don’t let the joual put you off. It’s playful and precious. The piano is manic and the clarinet wild. Enjoy!

(The paragraph above appeared in Jazz FM 91’s Jazz Messenger, August 13th, 2015 under JAZZ.FM91’S SUMMER PLAYLIST)

Lyrics in French from elyrics.net with my additions in bold:

Dis-moi c’est quoi ta toune
Qui m’r’vient dans les oreilles, tout le temps
Tu sais moé, j’ai plus ben ben l’temps comme avant
Plus le temps comme avant
Pour remplir mes oreilles
Dis-moi c’est quoi ta toune
Qui me r’vient comme le soleil tout ltemps
Quand y vient c’est jamais pour lontemps, de temps en temps
Pour longtemps, d’temps en temps
Pour chauffer mes oreilles
Aïe! Toé fais-en pas du pareil
Ôtes tes doigts d’dans tes oreilles
Toé fais-en pas du pareil

My quick translation (words added in parentheses to help keep the metre and meaning):

Tell me what’s this here tuneThat keeps coming back to my ears, always,
You know I don’t have as much time, as I did,
Not much time( much time) as I did
To fill up my ears (with tunes)
Tell me what’s this here tune
That keeps coming back like the sun, always.
When it comes it’s never for long, here and there
Not for long (for long) here and there
To warm up my (big) ears.
Hey, you, don’t you do that!
Take your fingers out of your ears!
You, don’t you do that!
Sum doob doo-bi-doob…
What song or piece of music do you associate with a particular season?

Leave a Reply

