Quirky Characters

Quirky CharactersDSCN1779
Confession #1: I started writing a novel because I thought blogging was (a bit of) a waste of time. One blogger, looking back on a series she had just finished writing in her spare time, said that her word count added up to a staggering 70,000, novel length! That was 2007.
Well, if I was going to devote that kind of time, I vowed, it would have to have more permanence than a few dozen blog posts. Yet here I am blogging (occasionally). Authors must have a web presence, which means that instead of thinking about my fictitious characters mired in their ficThai Basiltitious situations, I have to carve out a little time to think of something to say to you, my esteemed blog readers.
Confession #2: I have quite a few quirky habits. Take food combinations: Asian pear and cabernet sauvignon? Honeydew melon and Thai basil flower buds? Fresh mint and banana? Ahhhh … I could write whole blog posts about each but I won’t. This ain’t a food blog.
In a writer’s life quirks exist for one purpose and one purpose only: to flesh out characters. Imagine a fussy man who “babysits” his bacon, or a woman who suffers from “banana anxiety.” Don’t know what I’m talking about? That’s OK. Just make of it what you will. Go ahead and soak your cereals in milk overnight or squirt sriracha sauce on your cottage cheese. But don’t blog about it.
Use it.

 

One thought on “Quirky Characters

  1. When I search A writer’s blog I am mostly interested in the non literary material that they share. I search only the ones I admire their writing so now I do want to know about their preferences in food, theatre, gardening and everything else.
    In regards to literary issues the only thing that interests me in writers’ blogs are their thoughts about books written by others.
    So, my dear Jose, I would love to read anything you feel like writing thst has nothing to do with literature.
    Iris

    Like

Leave a Reply

